ADRION_Adriatic Ionian Programme 2014-2020

Adriatic Ionian Programme 2014-2020 - A new transnational ETC programme

The European Council of 13-14 December 2012 requested the European Commission to present a new macro-regional strategy for the Adriatic and Ionian region before the end of 2014. Building on the experience gained in the macro-regional strategies for the Baltic Sea region and the Danube region, the Commission is now proceeding to draw up an EU Strategy .

In line with the conclusions of the Report on the evaluation of the macroregional strategy concept (adopted in June 2013), the new Strategy for the Adriatic and Ionian region (EUSAIR) will cover eight countries: four EU Member States (Croatia, Greece, Italy, Slovenia) and four non-EU countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia) and will have a limited focus on areas of mutual interest with high relevance for the Adriatic-Ionian countries. It will be built on four thematic pillars:

1. Driving innovative maritime and marine growth 2. Connecting the region (transport and energy) 3. Preserving, protecting and improving the quality of the environment 4. Increasing regional attractiveness (tourism)

Moreover, "Research, innovation and SMEs development", as well as "Capacity Building" are two cross-cutting aspects which come across each and every area. 

In August 2013 the EC , in order to ensure the coherence with the forthcoming EUSAIR, decided to re-define the geographic scope of the South east gateway programme so as to match with the strategy : the new Adriatic –Ionian Programme area was adapted to the 8 countries of the Strategy.  


On 2nd August 2013, the European Commission proposed to adjust the Task Force composition and re-focus it towards an Adriatic-Ionian programme which should be confined to the 8 countries of the forthcoming macro-regional strategy. The first meeting of this adjusted Task Force took place in Corfu (Greece) on 17th October 2013; the second in Ljubljana (Slovenia) on 18th December 2013 and the third in Zagreb (Croatia) on 1st April 2014.


According to the Commission proposal the new transnational programme will cover fully or partially 4 EU countries (Greece, Italy and Slovenia, and Croatia) and 4 non-EU countries (Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia), having the same geographical scope than the forthcoming EU Strategy for the Adriatic-Ionian Region.


  • December  2013: Adoption of the new legislative package for the EU Cohesion Policy 2014-2020
  • First Half of 2014: TF involving external experts work on the elaboration of the OP
  • Mid 2014: Public consultation on the draft OP
  • September 2014: Submission of the Adriatic-Ionian OP
  • End 2014: Approval of the Adriatic-Ionian OP


According to the ToRs for the selection of the external experts in charge of the AIO OP drafting, a wiki page has been set set up including a web-repository: all the members of the AIO TF will receive an username and password to access to the wiki page (text revision) and to the files repository (download of EC and internal working documents)